

Association of Metropolitan School Districts

Board of Directors Meeting Friday, October 4, 2019, 7:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. Quora Education Center, 70 West County B2, Little Canada, MN

I. Welcome and Introductions

Chair Andrea Cuene called the meeting to order at 7:34 a.m. Cuene welcomed the members present and asked if there were any introductions to be made. Several introductions were made.

II. Routine Business

A. Approval of Minutes of September 6 Meeting

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the September 6 meeting. <u>The motion was approved.</u>

III. Guest Speaker

Chair Cuene introduced Rachel Dame, the 2020 Census Project Manager from the Minnesota State Demographic Center. Ms. Dame provided an overview of the upcoming census and what role our member districts can have in ensuring a complete count. She explained that schools are an important partner in a successful census because of the relationships school officials have with families. Ms. Dame also provided an overview of the Statistics in Schools curriculum that is available. After her presentation, Ms. Dame answered some questions from members.

IV. Guest Speaker

Chair Cuene introduced Nick Greene, Property Tax Research Director from the Minnesota Department of Revenue. Mr. Greene reviewed the Property Tax Burden (Voss) Report, which analyzes how Minnesota property values and property taxes vary by income and region. Following his presentation, Mr. Greene answered questions from members.

V. Executive Committee Report

A. Election of New Legislative Committee Member

Chair Cuene reported that the Executive Committee had nominated Patricia Driscoll, South Washington County Schools, to fill a vacancy on the Legislative Committee. Ms. Driscoll will replace Michelle Witte who is not seeking reelection to the South Washington County School Board. A motion was made and seconded to approve the nomination. The motion was approved unanimously.

B. Discussion and Approval of Amendments to Bylaws

Chair Cuene reported that the Executive Committee has approved several amendments to the AMSD Bylaws. Cuene reviewed the proposed amendments including:

1. Allowing a school board member to appoint their superintendent to serve as their alternate.

- 2. Clarifying that an AMSD officer must resign their officer position only if they are either endorsed by a political party for state or federal elective office or if they file as a candidate for state or federal elective office.
- 3. Eliminating two committees which have not been active for several years.

A motion was made and seconded to approve these amendments. The motion was approved.

C. Discussion and Approval of Amendments to Strategic Plan

Chair Cuene reviewed the proposed amendment to the AMSD Strategic Plan.

- 1. Changing references to "all students" to "each and every student".
- 2. Adding support for the work of Reimagine Minnesota.

There was some discussion about some of the specific changes being proposed and Chair Cuene noted that the AMSD Executive Committee plans to conduct a comprehensive review of the strategic plan next summer including seeking input from all board members. A motion was made and seconded to approve the amendments to the strategic plan. The motion was approved.

VI. Executive Director's Report

Chair Cuene asked Executive Director Croonquist to give his report. Croonquist thanked members for their comments regarding the strategic plan. He noted that conference registration is open and will now be available to non-AMSD members so he encouraged members to register soon. Croonquist shared that the Department of Education has created a school finance working group and the group held its first meeting on September 21. Croonquist noted that AMSD is well represented on the working group. The House is wrapping up its mini session today which was held in southeast Minnesota. Croonquist then invited Superintendent Christine Osorio to share an update on the upcoming student conference. Osorio shared that a link to a website has been sent to all districts. (thestudentconference.com) She noted that the number of students allocated for each district is based on total student enrollment. Superintendent Osorio stressed that the important thing is to identify the students and get transportation organized. There will be a press release going out today inviting press to attend the conference.

VII. Adjourn

Chair Cuene thanked members for their attendance and noted that the presentations and other material from the meeting is available on the AMSD website. Cuene reminded members of the upcoming meetings and adjourned the meeting at 8:56 am.

Attendance:

Al Ickler and David Law from Anoka-Hennepin; Nelly Korman and Les Fujitake from Bloomington; Cheryl Jechorek from Brooklyn Center; DeeDee Currier from Burnsville-Eagan-Savage; Kathy Kelly from Columbia Heights; Lisa Anderson and Clint Christopher from Eastern Carver County; Holly Link and Stacie Stanley from Eden Prairie; Owen Michaelson from Edina; Jason Berg and Jay Haugen from Farmington; Steve Adams from Hopkins; Mark Zuzek from Intermediate 917; Sue Gliva and Dave Bernhardson from Inver Grove Heights; Michael Baumann and Bob Erickson from Lakeville; Barb Duffrin from Mahtomedi; Edgar Alfonzo and Janie Gholston from Minneapolis; Chris Vitale and Dennis Peterson from Minnetonka; Kim Hartung, Diane Glasheen and Jeff Ridlehoover from Mounds View; Marilynn Forsberg and Anne Wegscheider from NE Metro 916; Lisa Sayles-Adams and Christine Osorio from North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale; Cory McIntyre, Kelsey Dawson Walton and Ron Meyer from Osseo; Teri Staloch from Prior Lake-Savage; Leadriane Roby and Peter Toensing from Richfield; Kristine Wehrkamp from Robbinsdale; Paul Durand and Amy Edwards from Rockford; Aldo Sicoli, Karen Schaub and Curtis Johnson from Roseville; Anne Casey from St. Louis Park; Rebecca Biel, Sherry Carlstrom, Zuki Ellis, Steve Marchese and Mary Vanderwert from St. Paul; Chris Walker and Dave Webb from South St Paul; Pat Driscoll from South Washington County; John Stroebel, Erika Taibl, Jeff Ronneberg and Amy Hennen from Spring Lake Park; Annette Sallman from Stillwater; Andrea Cuene from Wayzata; Peter Olson-Skog from West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan; Tim Wald and Margaret Newmaster from White Bear Lake; Kris Amundson, Lori Grivna, Scott Croonquist, Troy Melhus and Kimberly Jansa from AMSD.