

## **Association of Metropolitan School Districts**

Board of Directors Meeting Friday, August 9, 2019, 7:00 am – 9:00 am Quora Education Center, 70 West County B2, Little Canada, MN

## I. Welcome and Introductions

Chair Stephanie Levine called the meeting to order at 7:32 am. Levine welcomed the members present and asked if there were any introductions to be made. Several introductions were made.

#### **II. Routine Business**

### A. Approval of Minutes of May 24 Meeting

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the May 24 meeting. <u>The motion was approved.</u>

## III. Executive Committee Report

### A. Election of New Executive and Legislative Committee Members

Chair Levine reported that the Executive Committee had nominated the following AMSD board members to serve on the Executive Committee for 3 year terms:

Lisa Anderson, School Board Member, Eastern Carver County Schools Kim Hiel, Superintendent, Fridley Public Schools

Curtis Johnson, School Board Member, Roseville Area Schools

A motion was made and seconded to approve the slate of nominees. <u>The motion was approved unanimously.</u>

Levine reported that the Executive Committee had nominated the following AMSD board member to serve on the Legislative Committee for a 3 year term:

Mike Redmond, Superintendent, Shakopee Public Schools

A motion was made and seconded to approve the nomination. The motion was approved unanimously.

#### **B. Election of AMSD Officers**

Chair Levine presented the Executive Committee nominees to serve as AMSD officers for 2019-2020:

Chair: Andrea Cuene, School Board Member, Wayzata Public Schools Vice Chair: Curtis Johnson, School Board Member, Roseville Area Schools

Treasurer: Aldo Sicoli, Superintendent, Roseville Area Schools

A motion was made and seconded to approve the nominations. The motion was approved unanimously.

## IV. Recognition of AMSD Chair

New AMSD Chair Andrea Cuene thanked Stephanie Levine for her leadership as AMSD Chair over the past year. Cuene presented Levine with a donation in her honor to the ISD 197 Foundation in appreciation of her service.

## V. Executive Director's Report

Chair Cuene asked Executive Director Croonquist to give his report. Croonquist took a moment to thank outgoing chair Stephanie Levine for her service and leadership over the past year and congratulated Andrea Cuene on being elected chair. Croonquist also thanked Superintendent Aldo Sicoli for all of the support he provides to AMSD as treasurer. Croonquist introduced new AMSD office manager, Kimberly Jansa, and asked members to welcome her to the AMSD team. Croonquist reminded members to sign the attendance sheets on the sign-in tables as well as the sheet recording attendance for the purpose of earning CEU credits. Croonquist reported that two surveys have been sent, one regarding referendum plans for November and one to gather input on the legislative platform. Finally, Croonquist shared that the House of Representatives plans to hold a mini-session in Winona and the surround communities in October to gather public input.

## VI. Presentation of Friend of Public Education Award

Chair Cuene presented Dr. Tom Melcher, MN Department of Education, with AMSD's 2019 Friend of Public Education Award. After a gracious thank you, Dr. Melcher spoke briefly about positive and negative trends in education financing.

## VII. Guest Speaker

Chair Cuene introduced Minnesota State Demographer Susan Brower. Dr. Brower shared a comprehensive and informative presentation on the upcoming 2020 census as well as an overview of Minnesota's general demographic trends. Following her presentation, Dr. Brower engaged in a question & answer session with AMSD members.

# VIII. Adjourn

Chair Cuene thanked members for their attendance and noted that information from the meeting is available on the AMSD website. Cuene reminded members of the upcoming meetings and adjourned the meeting at 8:57 am.

#### Attendance:

Al Ickler and David Law from Anoka-Hennepin; Beth Beebe and Nelly Korman from Bloomington; Antwan Harris and Kathy Kelly from Columbia Heights; Lisa Anderson from Eastern Carver County; Holly Link and Josh Swanson from Eden Prairie; Sebastian Witherspoon from Equity Alliance; Kim Hiel from Fridley; Chris LaTondresse and Rhoda Mhiripiri-Reed from Hopkins; Bob Erickson and Emily McDonald from Lakeville; Barb Duffrin and Lucy Payne from Mahtomedi; Chris Lennox from Mounds View; Marilynn Forsberg and Connie Hayes from NE Metro 916; Christine Osorio from North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale; Cory McIntyre from Osseo; Teri Staloch from Prior Lake-Savage; Paul Durand from Rockford; Angela Schroetke and Kristine Wehrkamp from Robbinsdale; Mary Kreger from Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan; Aldo Sicoli, Karen Schaub, Todd Anderson, Barbara Barany, Kitty Gogins and Curtis Johnson from Roseville; Renee Corneille, Leah Slye and Andrea Scamehorn from St. Anthony-New Brighton; Anne Casey and Astein Osei from St. Louis Park; Joe Gothard and Mary Vanderwert from St. Paul; Darren Kermes from Southwest Metro; John Strobel and Amy Schultz from Spring Lake Park; Mike Ptacek and Bob McDowell from Stillwater; Chace Anderson, Andrea Cuene and Cheryl Polzin from Wayzata; Brian Schultz and Stephanie Levine from West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan; Margaret Newmaster from White Bear Lake; Scott Croonquist, Troy Melhus and Kimberly Jansa from AMSD.