

Association of Metropolitan School Districts

Board of Directors Meeting, Association of Metropolitan School Districts Friday, May 24, 2019, 7:00 am – 9:00 am Quora Education Center, 70 County B2 W., Little Canada, MN

I. Welcome and Introductions

Chair Stephanie Levine called the meeting to order at 7:34 am. Levine welcomed the members present and asked if there were any introductions to be made. Several introductions were made.

II. Routine Business

A. Approval of Minutes of May 3rd Meeting

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the May 3rd meeting. The motion was approved.

III. Executive Committee Report

Chair Levine asked members to review the proposed 2019-2020 AMSD budget and membership fees which were included on the tables and available on the website. Chair Levine provided a brief overview and noted that the proposed budget would increase membership dues by an average of 2%. Levine reminded board members that the dues structure includes a fixed fee that is the same for all members and a variable fee that is based on the resident student count. A motion was made and seconded to approve 2019-2020 AMSD budget and membership fees. The motion was approved.

IV. Executive Director's Report

Chair Levine asked Executive Director Croonquist to offer his report. Croonquist began by sharing a brief overview of the Cruz-Guzman lawsuit and informed members that several AMSD superintendents had the opportunity to share the work of Reimagine Minnesota with the mediators of the case. Croonquist noted that the mediators were planning to hear presentations from a wide variety of stakeholder groups over the next several weeks. Croonquist also informed board members that there will be a couple of openings on the executive committee for the coming year and asked anyone interested in serving on the committee to contact him or Chair Stephaine Levine. Croonquist then recognized and thanked AMSD office manager Sara O'Rourke who has accepted a new position and is leaving AMSD after 10 years. Croonquist also recognized Interim Osseo Superintendent Jim Bauck who is retiring at the end of the year. Finally, Croonquist shared an overview of the activity in the final days of the 2019 legislative session and a brief overview of the AMSD legislative priorities that had been included in the final Omnibus Education Bill and thanked AMSD members for their advocacy efforts.

VI. Guest Speakers

Croonquist introduced Dr. Tom Melcher and Kate Lynne Snyder, from the Minnesota Department of Education. Dr. Melcher and Ms. Snyder presented a comprehensive overview of the education finance and policy provisions that were included in the 2019 Omnibus E-12 Finance Bill. Dr. Melcher and Ms. Snyder concluded their time by answering questions from AMSD board members.

VII. Adjourn

Chair Levine thanked members for their attendance and noted that the handouts from the meeting are available on the AMSD website. Levine adjourned the meeting at 9:02 AM.

Attendance:

Cory McIntyre and Al Ickler from Anoka-Hennepin; Nelly Korman from Bloomington; Dee Dee Currier from Burnsville-Eagan-Savage; Kim Hiel and Susan Samaha from Fridley; Chris LaTondresse, Rhoda Mhiripiri-Reed, Catharine Callahan and Steve Adams from Hopkins; Sandra Lewandowski and Michele Kunz from Intermediate 287; Dave Bernhardson from Inver Grove Heights; Barb Duffrin from Mahtomedi; Ed Graff from Minneapolis; Chris Vitale from Minnetonka; Chris Lennox and Amy Jones from Mounds View; Marilynn Forsberg and Connie Hayes from NE Metro 916; Martha VanDeVen from Orono; Jim Bauck and Kelsey Dawson Walton from Osseo; Teri Staloch from Prior Lake Savage; Steve Unowsky and Peter Toensing from Richfield; Paul Durand from Rockford; Helen Bassett, Kristine Wehrkamp from Robbinsdale;; Aldo Sicoli, Karen Schaub and Curtis Johnson from Roseville; Renee Corneille, Andrea Scamehorn and Leah Slye from St. Anthony-New Brighton; Anne Casey, Astein Osei and Patricia Magnuson from St. Louis Park; Mike Redmond from Shakopee; Dave Webb and Susan Brott from South St. Paul;; John Strobel, Amy Hennen and Bob Noyed from Spring Lake Park; Mike Ptacek and Sarah Stivland from Stillwater; Andrea Cuene and Cheryl Polzin from Wayzata; Stephanie Levine from West St. Paul; Wayne Kazmierczak and Marge Newmaster from White Bear Lake; Scott Croonquist, Troy Melhus and Sara O'Rourke from AMSD.