

Association of Metropolitan School Districts

2 Pine Tree Drive, Suite 380, Arden Hills, MN 55112 • 612-430-7750 • www.amsd.org

AMSD Executive Committee Meeting

Friday, July 16, 2021, 7:30 am – 10:30 am Room 301, Anderson Center, Bethel University, Arden Hills, MN

Members Present: Lisa Anderson Renee Corneille Andrea Cuene

Kelsey Dawson Walton Kim Hiel Curtis Johnson

David Law Christine Osorio John Stroebel

Staff Present: Scott Croonquist Troy Melhus Kimberly Jansa

Guests Present: Kris Amundson Lori Grivna

I. Welcome

AMSD Chair Curtis Johnson called the meeting to order at 7:37 a.m.

II. Approval of Minutes of June 11 Meeting

Chair Johnson asked members to review the minutes from the June 11 meeting. A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes. The minutes were approved.

III. Approval of July Disbursements

Chair Johnson asked members to review the monthly disbursements. A motion was made and seconded to approve the July disbursements. <u>The disbursements were approved.</u>

IV. Approval of Quarterly Treasurer's Report

Chair Johnson asked members to review the quarterly treasurer's report. A motion was made and seconded to approve the quarterly treasurer's report. The report was approved.

V. Approval of AMSD Officer & Committee Nominations

Executive Director Scott Croonquist reported that all of the potential candidates identified at the June meeting were interested in serving as committee members. The proposed nominees are:

Officer Nominees:

Chair: Kelsey Dawson Walton, School Board, Osseo Area Schools

Vice Chair: TBD

Treasurer: Jenny Loeck, Superintendent, Roseville Area Schools

Executive Committee Nominees:

Crystal Brakke, School Board, Richfield Public Schools

Mary Frances Clardy, School Board, Inver Grove Heights Schools

Mary Kreger, Superintendent, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan Public Schools

Rhoda Mhiripiri Reed, Superintendent Hopkins Public Schools

Legislative Committee Nominees:

Jill Lofald, School Board, Duluth Public Schools
Bob McDowell, Superintendent, Hastings Public Schools

Croonquist noted that the committee needed to identify a vice chair and that the past practice has been to elect an incoming school board member as vice chair who would then also serve as chair and past chair over their term. After a short discussion, a motion was made and seconded to ask Inver Grove Heights Board Member Mary Frances Clardy to serve as Vice Chair. The motion was approved. The slate of nominees will be formally presented for election at the August 13 Board of Directors meeting.

VI. Recognition of Outgoing Committee Members

Executive Director Croonquist noted that this was the last meeting for several committee members whose terms are ending:

Executive Committee: Andrea Cuene, David Law, Christine Tucci Osorio and John Stroebel. Legislative Committee: Pat Driscoll and Astein Osei.

Croonquist thanked the committee members for their dedicated service over the past three years and he and Chair Johnson presented each of them an appreciation gift on behalf of AMSD.

VII. Adjourn

There being no other business, Chair Johnson adjourned the executive committee meeting at 7:44 a.m.