

Association of Metropolitan School Districts

Board of Directors Meeting, Association of Metropolitan School Districts Friday, February 1, 2019, 7:00 am – 9:00 am Quora Education Center, 70 County B2W, Little Canada, MN

I. Welcome and Introductions

Chair Stephanie Levine called the meeting to order at 7:39 am. Levine welcomed the members and asked if there were any introductions to be made. Several introductions were made. Chair Levine noted that there was a table in the hallway with attendance sheets— one to record attendance at the meeting and one to earn CEU hours.

II. Routine Business

A. Approval of Minutes of December 7 Meeting

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the December 7th meeting. <u>The motion was approved.</u>

III. Guest Speaker

Chair Levine introduced the first guest speaker, Representative Cheryl Youakim, Chair, House Education Policy Committee. Representative Youakim shared an overview of the issues she expects to be before her committee during the 2019 legislative session. Rep. Youakim also outlined the committee deadlines and noted that her committee will be developing an omnibus education policy committee that will be amended into, and become part of the omnibus education finance and policy bill. Rep. Youakim concluded her time by answering several question from AMSD members.

IV. Executive Committee Report

Chair Levine thanked Representative Youakim for her time and discussion with AMSD members. The next order of business was the executive committee report. Chair Levine informed members that Executive Committee Member Bruce Hentges, St. Cloud Area Schools, did not run for re-election so his position on the AMSD legislative committee was vacant. Newly elected St. Cloud School Board Member Zach Dorholt has been nominated by the executive committee to fill the position. A motion was made and seconded to elect Zach Dorholt to the AMSD legislative committee. The motion was approved.

V. Legislative Committee Report

Chair Levine next asked members to review the updated AMSD position papers on Special Education and Charter Schools. Executive Director Scott Croonquist reminded members that the position papers had been approved by the board in previous years and that the changes were to reflect updated demographic data, new research and/or legislative changes enacted in 2018. Croonquist briefly reviewed the papers with members, highlighting the changes. Chair Levine asked if board members had any feedback or comments. Chair Levine asked for a motion to approve the two position papers. A motion was made and seconded to approve the updated position papers. The motion was approved.

VI. Executive Director's Report

Chair Levine asked Executive Director Croonquist to offer his report. Croonquist noted that the legislative session is now one month old and he indicated that the session was proceeding as normal.

Croonquist informed members that he and AMSD lobbyists Kris Amundson and Lori Grivna have been busy meeting with legislators to discuss the AMSD platform and proposed legislation. Croonquist then highlighted some proposed unfunded mandates that have been proposed and encouraged board members to talk to their local legislators about these mandates. Croonquist noted that the governor's budget is scheduled to be released on February 19 and the state budget forecast on February 28. Croonquist then noted that the first committee deadline is March 15, when all bills need to have passed out of all policy committees in one of the legislative bodies to stay alive. The second deadline is March 29 which is the deadline for bills that met the first deadline to pass the policy committees in the other body. The fiscal bill deadline is April 12. Croonquist then clarified recent comments from the governor's office related to snow/cold days and the minimum instructional day and hour requirements. Croonquist reported that legislation is required to provide any waiver from the minimum instructional time requirements and that MASA was working with MDE to gather information to ascertain the scope of the problem. Croonquist next informed members that the AMSD Day at the Capitol will be Thursday, February 21, and encouraged members to attend and schedule meetings with their local legislators. Croonquist also encouraged members to reach out to the governor to encourage him to include a three percent per year increase in the formula along with investments in special education to address the growing cross-subsidy in his budget. Croonquist ended his report by calling members attention to the AMSD website and the resources available, including the AMSD bill tracker, legislative platform, and various links to legislative pages. Croonquist also noted the "Didn't We Already Say Yes" video advocating for school board renewal of an operating referendum had been updated and was available on the website. The updated video was played for members. Croonquist ended his time by answering questions and engaging in discussion with AMSD board members.

VII. Adjourn

Chair Levine thanked board members and guests for attending and noted that the handouts from the meeting are on the AMSD website. Chair Levine noted the upcoming meetings and adjourned the meeting at 8:49 AM.

Attendance:

Al Ickler and from Anoka-Hennepin; Beth Beebe from Bloomington; Carly Baker and Cheryl Jechorek from Brooklyn Center; Kathy Kelly from Columbia Heights; Terri Swartout and Stacie Stanley from Eden Prairie; Jason Berg and Jay Haugen from Farmington; Kim Hiel from Fridley; Steve Adams from Hopkins; Mark Zuzek from Intermediate 917; Michael Bauman, Dee Dee Currier and Bob Erickson from Lakeville; Barb Duffrin and Mike Chevalier from Mahtomedi Chris Lennox from Mounds View; Marilynn Forsberg and Connie Hayes from NE Metro 916; Melissa Jordan from Northwest Suburban; Jim Bauck from Osseo; Teri Staloch and Stacy Ruelle from Prior Lake Savage; Steve Unowsky from Richfield; Helen Bassett and Carlton Jenkins from Robbinsdale; Paul Durand and Amy Edwards from Rockford; Aldo Sicoli, Karen Schaub from Roseville; Leah Slye and Andrea Scamehorn from St. Anthony; Astein Osei and Anne Casey from St. Louis Park; Joe Gothard from St Paul; Keith Jacobus and Michelle Witte from South Washington County; Dave Webb and Chris Walker from South St. Paul; Darren Kermes from SW Metro; Jeff Ronneberg, John Strobel and Bob Noyed from Spring Lake Park; Mike Ptacek from Stillwater; Andrea Cuene, and Cheryl Polzin from Wayzata; Stephanie Levine from West St. Paul; Sara Paul, Wayne Kazmierczak and Tim Wald from White Bear Lake; Kris Amundson, Lori Grivna, Scott Croonquist, Troy Melhus and Sara O'Rourke from AMSD.