

Association of Metropolitan School Districts

1667 Snelling Ave. N., St. Paul, MN 55108 • 651-999-7325 • fax 651-999-7328 • www.amsd.org

Board of Directors Meeting, Association of Metropolitan School Districts Friday, May 25, 2018, 7:00 am – 9:00 am Grand Hall, TIES Conference Center, St. Paul, MN

I. Welcome and Introductions

Chair Steve Adams called the meeting to order at 7:36 am. Adams welcomed the members present and asked if there were any introductions to be made. Several introductions were made.

II. Routine Business

A. Approval of Minutes of May 4th Meeting

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the May 4th meeting. <u>The motion was approved.</u>

III. Executive Committee Report

Chair Adams asked members to review the proposed 2018-2019 AMSD budget and membership fee documents which were included on the tables and available on the website. Chair Adams provided a brief overview and noted that the proposed budget would increase membership dues slightly. Adams reminded board members that the dues structure includes a fixed fee that is the same for all members and a variable fee that is based on the resident student count. A motion was made and seconded to approve 2018-2019 AMSD budget and membership fees. The motion was approved.

IV. Recognition of Retiring Superintendents

Chair Adams informed members that several AMSD superintendents will be retiring and this will be their last AMSD meeting. Chair Adams recognized Superintendent Kate Maguire, Osseo, Superintendent Bob Laney, St. Anthony-New Brighton, Superintendent Peggy Flathmann, Fridley, Superintendent John Christianson, Intermediate 917, Superintendent Mark Larson, Mahtomedi, and Superintendent Jane Berenz, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan. Adams thanked them for their years of service to public education and AMSD and wished them the best in retirement.

V. Executive Director's Report

Chair Adams asked Executive Director Croonquist to offer his report. Croonquist shared an overview of the activity in the final days of the 2018 legislative session. Croonquist briefly reviewed the final legislative proposals that were sent to the Governor and noted that Governor Dayton had vetoed the tax and supplemental budget bills. The bonding bill, which includes grants for school safety projects, and the pension bill, are still under review by the Governor.

VI. Guest Speakers

Croonquist introduced Dr. Tom Melcher and Adosh Unni, from the Minnesota Department of Education, and Mr. Jay Stoffel, Executive Director of the Minnesota Teachers Retirement Association. Dr. Melcher and Mr. Unni gave an overview of the legislative session including the bills vetoed by Governor Dayton and the bills still under consideration. Mr. Stoffel shared an overview of the pension bill and reported that he had been informed by staff in the governor's office that a bill signing ceremony was being planned.

VII. Adjourn

Chair Adams thanked members for their attendance and noted that the handouts from the meeting are available on the AMSD website. Adams adjourned the meeting at 9:15 AM.

Attendance:

Al Ickler, Cory McIntyre and David Law from Anoka; Nelly Korman from Bloomington; Janet Mohr from Bosa; Cheryl Jechorek from Brooklyn Center; Kathy Kelly from Columbia Heights; Lisa Anderson and Clint Christopher from Eastern Carver County; Josh Swanson and Holly Link from Eden Prairie; Steve Adams and Catherine Callahan from Hopkins; Mae Hawkins from Intermediate 287; John Christansen from Intermediate 917; Dave Bernhardson and Sue Gliva from Inver Grove Heights; Michael Baumann from Lakeville; Mark Larson and Mike Chevalier from Mahtomedi; Ed Graff and Josh Downham from Minneapolis; Dennis Peterson and Mike LeSage from Minnetonka; Chris Lennox and Amy Jones from Mounds View; Marilynn Forsberg from NE Metro 916; Melissa Jordan from North West Suburban; Martha VanDeVen from Orono; Mike Ostaffe and Kate Maguire from Osseo; Teri Staloch and Todd Sorenson from Prior Lake-Savage; John Vento and Kristine Wehrkamp from Robbinsdale; Paul Durand and Chuck Tryon from Rockford; Tony Taschner and Jane Berenz from Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan; Aldo Sicoli from Roseville; Marshall Thompson, Astein Osei and Anne Casey from St. Louis Park; Chris Walker and Aaron Bushberger from South St. Paul; Pat Driscoll from South Washington County; Darren Kermes from SouthWest Metro; Bob McDowell and Mike Ptacek from Stillwater; Peter Olson-Skog, Marcy Doud and Stephanie Levine from West. St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan; Wayne Kazmierczak from White Bear Lake; Cheryl Polzin and Andrea Cuene from Wayzata; Lori Grivna, Kris Amundson, Scott Croonquist and Alice Seuffert from AMSD.