

Association of Metropolitan School Districts

Board of Directors Meeting
Friday, August 13, 2021, 7:30 a.m. – 9 a.m.
Quora Education Center, 70 West County B2, Little Canada, MN
Also conducted via Zoom

I. Welcome

Chair Curtis Johnson called the meeting to order at 7:36 a.m. and welcomed everyone and noted several new superintendents and school board members. Several introductions were made.

II. Routine Business

Approval of Minutes of May 21 Meeting

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the May 21 meeting. <u>The motion was approved.</u>

III. Executive Committee Report

A. Election of New Executive and Legislative Committee Members

Chair Johnson reported that the Executive Committee had nominated the following slate of AMSD board members to serve on the Executive Committee for 3-year terms:

Mary Frances Clardy, School Board Member, Inver Grove Heights Crystal Brakke, School Board Member, Richfield Mary Kreger, Superintendent, Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan District 196 Rhoda Mhiripiri-Reed, Superintendent, Hopkins

A motion was made and seconded to approve the slate of nominees. The motion was approved

Chair Johnson reported that the Executive Committee had nominated the following AMSD board members to serve on the Legislative Committee for 3-year terms:

Jill Lofald, School Board Member, Duluth Bob McDowell, Superintendent, Hastings

A motion was made and seconded to approve the slate of nominations. The motion was approved.

B. Election of AMSD Officers

Chair Johnson reported that the Executive Committee had nominated the following board members to serve as AMSD officers for 2021-2022:

Chair: Kelsey Dawson Walton, School Board Member, Osseo

Vice Chair: Mary Frances Clardy, School Board Member, Inver Grove Heights

Treasurer: Jenny Loeck, Superintendent, Roseville

A motion was made and seconded to approve the nominations. The motion was approved.

IV. Recognition of Outgoing AMSD Chair

New AMSD Chair Kelsey Dawson Walton thanked Curtis Johnson for his steady leadership as AMSD Chair over the challenging past year. Dawson Walton presented a \$100 donation to Curtis Johnson, in honor of service, to the Roseville Area Schools Foundation. Johnson expressed his gratitude to AMSD members for the opportunity to serve as chair.

V. Executive Director's Report

Chair Dawson Walton invited Executive Director Croonquist to share his report. Croonquist started by recognizing the hard work that all of the school board members and superintendents have done throughout this challenging time. Croonquist thanked outgoing Chair Curtis Johnson for his outstanding leadership over the past year. Croonquist extended his congratulations to the new committee members and officers and thanked the outgoing committee members for their time and dedication to AMSD – School Board Members Andrea Cuene, John Stroebel and Pat Driscoll and Superintendents Astein Osei, Christine Tucci Osorio, and David Law.

Croonquist reported that things are relatively quiet at the Capitol with no hearings directly related to education on the schedule. Croonquist reminded board members that the AMSD website has a wealth of information from the 2021 legislative session including a summary and districts runs related to the Omnibus E-12 Education Bill. Croonquist reported that a Frontline Worker Pay Working Group has been established to determine criteria on how to allocate bonus pay to frontline workers in recognition of their work during the pandemic. The working group must submit proposed recommendations to the governor, speaker of the house, and senate majority leader by September 6.

Croonquist reported that the Legislative Committee has been serving as a strategic planning committee this summer to refresh the AMSD Strategic Plan after delaying it last year due to the pandemic. He thanked Eastern Carver County School Board Member Lisa Anderson for volunteering to serve as a facilitator for the strategic planning effort. The committee will continue work on this over the next month and will then bring a draft to the board.

Croonquist noted that the AMSD Annual Fall Conference is scheduled for November 17 at the Minneapolis Marriott Northwest. An RFP was sent to AMSD members seeking proposals from member districts highlighting successful programs/initiatives that have addressed one or more of the focus areas in the Reimagine Minnesota plan. An "unconference" will also be a part of the agenda.

Croonquist reported that work has begun on developing the 2022 legislative platform. All board members should have received a survey to identify policy and funding priorities. The Legislative Committee will review the survey results and develop a draft legislative platform over the next two months before bringing a draft to the board at the November meeting. Croonquist shared that the Legislative Committee will also be reviewing and updating the standing position papers throughout the fall. The next legislative session convenes on January 31, 2022.

VI. Guest Speakers

Chair Dawson Walton introduced Dr. Katie Pekel from the University of Minnesota, who shared an overview of the results of the Minnesota Safe Learning Survey, which aimed to capture the experiences

of educators, families, and students with the Minnesota Department of Education's Safe Learning Plan. Following her presentation, Dr. Pekel answered a few questions from board members.

Chair Dawson Walton introduced the next guest speaker, Attorney Paula Forbes. Forbes presented a comprehensive review of the history of the Cruz-Guzman lawsuit, previous education lawsuits, the proposed constitutional amendment, and the Reimagine Minnesota work.

VII. Adjourn

Chair Dawson Walton thanked everyone for their attendance. There being no further business, Chair Dawson Walton adjourned the meeting at 9:08 a.m.