

Association of Metropolitan School Districts

Board of Directors Meeting Friday, March 6, 2020, 7:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. Quora Education Center, 70 West County B2, Little Canada, MN

I. Welcome and Introductions

Chair Andrea Cuene called the meeting to order at 7:34 a.m. Cuene welcomed the members present and there were a few guests that were introduced.

II. Routine Business

A. Approval of Minutes of January 10 Meeting

A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the January 10 meeting. <u>The motion was approved.</u>

III. Guest Speakers

Chair Cuene introduced the guest speakers, Justice Alan Page, Retired Justice from the Minnesota Supreme Court and Neel Kashkari, President of the Minneapolis Federal Reserve Bank. Justice Page and Mr. Kashkari discussed the proposal to amend the State Constitution to make it a paramount duty of the State to ensure a quality public education. Following their presentation, Justice Page and President Kashkari engaged in a question and answer session with board members.

IV. Guest Speakers

Chair Cuene introduced the next guest speakers, Alex Liuzzi, executive director of the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB), along with PELSB board members, Supt. Steve Unowsky and Mahtomedi Board Member Lucy Payne. The group shared an overview of PELSB's cultural competency training, issues related to tiered licensing, and PELBS's legislative initiatives.

V. Executive Director's Report

Executive Director Croonquist asked members to contact him or any of the AMSD Legislative Committee members with feedback or concerns about the proposed constitutional amendment. The committee members will be discussing the proposed amendment further at their next meeting on March 27. Croonquist shared that the February budget forecast has been released. He noted that while the forecast showed an increase in the budget surplus of \$181 million, the increase is almost all one-time money and does not significantly change the budget outlook. The Governor is expected to release his budget proposal within the next week and House and Senate leaders are expected to announce spending targets the week of March 23. The Legislature is also putting a package together to respond to the Coronavirus issue. Croonquist reported that early learning and childcare are the top focus of the House while the Senate's priority is tax relief. K-12 education funding, in general, is not being highlighted as a priority by legislators but the issues of school safety and mental health have attracted some attention. Croonquist informed members that the Legislative Auditor's compensatory revenue report came out

yesterday, and invited everyone to read today's AMSD Update for more detailed information. Croonquist also highlighted legislation that would allow a local school district to replace the high school MCA exams in math and reading with a college entrance exam. Croonquist reminded members that the House was hosting an Education Symposium today focused on the opportunity gap. The event will be held in Room 5 of the State Office Building and will also be livestreamed. Lastly, Croonquist reminded members of the upcoming AMSD Day at the Capitol on Tuesday, March 17.

VI. Adjourn

Chair Cuene thanked everyone for their attendance and reminded members of the upcoming meetings. Chair Cuene adjourned the meeting at 9:05 a.m.

Attendance:

David Law, Al Ickler, Cecelia Dodge and Erin Heers-McArdle from Anoka Hennepin; Les Fujitake and Nelly Korman from Bloomington; Carly Baker and Ruthie Dallas from Brooklyn Center; Theresa Battle and DeeDee Currier from Burnsville-Eagan-Savage; Kathy Kelly from Columbia Heights; Stacie Stanley and Holly Link from Eden Prairie; Ellen Jones from Edina; Sebastian Witherspoon from Equity Alliance; Jason Berg from Farmington; Avonna Starck, Jael McLemore, Laura Seifert-Hertling and John Piotraschke from Fridley; Rhoda Mhiripiri-Reed, Catherine Callahan, Chris LaTondresse, Joe Ramlet and Steve Adams from Hopkins; Sandy Lewandowski from Intermediate District 287; Mark Zuzek and Kathy Lewis from Intermediate District 917; Michael Baumann and Bob Erickson from Lakeville; Barb Duffrin, Julie McGraw and Lucy Payne from Mahtomedi; Ed Graff and Kerry Jo Felder from Minneapolis; Dennis Peterson and Mark Ambrosen from Minnetonka; Chris Lennox and Jim DeMay from Mounds View; Christine Osorio, Lisa Sayles-Adams and Nancy Livingston from North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale; Connie Hayes and Marilynn Forsberg from NE Metro 916; Aaron Ruhland and Martha Van De Ven from Orono; Cory McIntyre from Osseo; Teri Staloch, Michael Nelson and Stacy Ruelle from Prior Lake-Savage; Steve Unowsky and Peter Toensing from Richfield; Helen Bassett and Kristine Wehrkamp from Robbinsdale; Rhonda Dean and Amy Edwards from Rockford; Mary Kreger, Joel Albright and Jackie Magnuson from Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan; Aldo Sicoli and Curtis Johnson from Roseville; Mike Redmond from Shakopee; Chris Walker from South St. Paul; Pat Driscoll from South Washington County; Darren Kermes from SouthWest Metro Intermediate; Jeff Ronneberg and John Stroebel from Spring Lake Park; Renee Corneille, Lynne Penke Valdes and Wendy Webster from St. Anthony-New Brighton; Anne Casey from St. Louis Park; Chauntyll Allen, Mary Gilbert Dougherty and Zuki Ellis from St. Paul; Mustafa Ibrahim from STEP Academy; Bob McDowell, Sarah Stivland and Mike Ptacek from Stillwater; Chace Anderson, Andrea Cuene, Andrew Hagen and Cheryl Polzin from Wayzata; Stephanie Levine from West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan; Margaret Newmaster from White Bear Lake; Kris Amundson, Lori Grivna, Scott Croonquist, Troy Melhus and Kimberly Jansa from AMSD.